Skip to Content

Jessie Smith Noyes Foundation Award

In 1998 the Foundation initiated an awards program to help sustain and strengthen long-term grantees making significant contributions to the social movements of which they are part. Each award was for $100,000 and in addition to the regular support that the organization received from the Foundation. The selection criteria included leadership, commitment to diversity, experience of movement building and organizational longevity. The Foundation intended to make 25 awards but the program was discontinued in 2008, after the 22nd award, due to the downturn in the economy. The Board will consider reinstituting the Awards in the future.

Award Recipients

Appalachian Sustainable Development – 1999 

Center for Rural Affairs – 1998

Environmental Health Coalition – 1998 

Federation of Southern Cooperatives – 1999

HIV Law Project – 2000 

Idaho Women’s Network – 2002

Indigenous Environmental Network – 2000 

Kentucky Coalition – 1998

National Campaign for Sustainable Agriculture – 2000

National Network of Abortion Funds 1998 

National Organizers Alliance – 2000

Native American Women’s Health Education Resource Center – 1999

New York City Environmental Justice Alliance – 2000

Northwest Women’s Law Center – 2004

Rural Advancement Foundation International-USA – 1998

Rural Coalition – 2001 

Southern Echo – 1999

South Providence Development Corporation – 2002

SouthWest Organizing Project – 1999

Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility – 2005

White Earth Land Recovery Project – 2006

National Latina Institute for Reproductive Rights – 2007